Skip to content
Free US shipping on 3 & 6 bottle packs60-day money-back guaranteeSecure checkout
Strong Peak™
Home/Blog/L-Citrulline and L-Carnitine: Amino Acids on a Gummy Label
Formula

L-Citrulline and L-Carnitine: Amino Acids on a Gummy Label

By Strong Peak Editorial TeamPublished October 26, 2026Updated November 6, 20264 min read
Quick answer

L-Citrulline and L-Carnitine are two of the nine ingredients on the label. Both are amino-acid-type compounds, and the L simply names their molecular form. Citrulline takes its name from the watermelon family, and carnitine from a Latin word for flesh. This guide explains what they are and how a label presents them.

Key takeaways
  • Both names appear among the nine ingredients on the Strong Peak label.
  • The L- prefix describes molecular form, not strength or quality.
  • Citrulline's name traces back to watermelon; carnitine's to a Latin word for flesh.
  • Amounts are not stated here, and this guide makes no effect claims.

Two names, one family of building blocks

Open the Strong Peak label and the first two ingredients you meet, L-Citrulline and L-Carnitine, look like chemistry homework. They are easier than they appear. Amino acids are small molecules that the body and the food supply both use as building blocks for proteins and other compounds. Citrulline is an amino acid. Carnitine is an amino-acid-derived compound that is often grouped with them on labels.

This guide stays at the level of what each thing is and how labels write it down. It does not describe what either one does in anyone's body, and the brand's own statements about the formula are always stated by the brand.

Think of this as a label-reading lesson rather than a science lecture. By the end you should be able to look at either name and say what family it belongs to, where the word comes from and why it is written the way it is.

What the L actually means

Many amino acid molecules can exist in two mirror-image shapes, much like a left and right hand. Chemists label them L and D. The L form is the one most commonly found in food and in the ingredient lists of supplements, which is why you see it written right in front of the name.

So the L is a naming convention, not a grade. It does not signal that an ingredient is stronger, purer or more premium. It is simply the formal way to say which of the two shapes is meant, and you will see the same prefix on many other amino acids in a grocery-aisle ingredient list.

A simple way to remember it: the prefix is like a tag in a shirt collar that tells you the cut, not the quality of the fabric. Two shirts with different tags can both be excellent; the tag just identifies the pattern.

Ready to start your routine?

Strong Peak: a once-daily gummy, one a day at the same time, with a 60-day money-back guarantee.

Order Strong Peak Now

Where the name citrulline comes from

Citrulline carries a piece of botany in its name. It was first isolated from watermelon, whose genus is Citrullus, and the word comes from the Latin for that fruit. The compound is also found in other members of the gourd family, such as cucumbers and melons, though a gummy label lists it by its own name rather than by any food source.

On the Strong Peak panel it appears as L-Citrulline, a single named ingredient. If you are curious about the foods that contain it naturally, the USDA FoodData Central database is a helpful neutral place to explore food composition.

Where the name carnitine comes from

Carnitine has an equally literal origin. Early researchers first isolated it from meat extract, and its name draws on the Latin word carnis, meaning flesh. It occurs naturally in foods such as beef and dairy and is also produced inside the body from other amino acids.

On a label it usually appears as L-Carnitine, sometimes followed by the form used, such as a tartrate or similar salt. Seeing that extra word is normal: it names the specific compound that carries the carnitine. The label lists L-Carnitine, and further detail on the full list is on the formula page.

Reading these lines like a pro

When you meet an ingredient like these, three quick checks keep you oriented. First, confirm the exact name as written. Second, look for any form or salt named after it. Third, check where the amount is shown, and remember that individual amounts are not given in this guide.

From there, bring the label back to your routine. The directions are one gummy daily, ideally at the same time each day, and a bottle holds 30 gummies. To see how the formula fits into the brand's overall description, read how Strong Peak works, or compare pack sizes on the pricing page. Every order carries a 60-day money-back guarantee counted from the purchase date.

A final tip is to keep one reliable reference bookmarked for any ingredient name that stumps you, so a quick look-up replaces guessing every time you shop.

Related guides

FAQ

Quick answers

No. They are two separate ingredients with different names, different origins and different chemical structures. Citrulline is an amino acid whose name comes from watermelon, while carnitine is an amino-acid-derived compound whose name comes from a Latin word for flesh. They simply sit side by side on the Strong Peak label.

No. The L is a naming convention that identifies the molecular form of an amino acid, as opposed to its mirror-image D form. It is the form commonly used in foods and supplements, so you will see it on many labels. It describes shape, not strength, purity or grade.

The individual amounts are not stated in this guide, and we do not guess at them. What the label does give you is the ingredient names, the serving of one gummy daily and the 30-gummy bottle count. For questions about the formula, you can contact support through the website.
Ready when you are

Start your Strong Peak routine today

One gummy a day, nine listed ingredients and a 60-day money-back guarantee. Packs start at $49 per bottle, and 3- and 6-bottle orders ship free in the US.

Order Strong Peak NowBacked by a 60-day money-back guarantee · Secure checkout
Six bottles of Strong Peak gummies
Strong Peak™ from $49/bottle60-day money-back guarantee
Order Now